Biggin C of E Primary School

Achieve Believe Care

Personnel Committee


Committee Members

Mrs Jan Page (Chair)

Miss T Nicholls (Head)

Mrs Joanne Eaton

Mrs Sandra McCurrach

Mr Myles Leslie

Terms of reference:


  • To draft and keep under review the staffing structure in consultation with the Headteacher and the Finance Committee
  • To establish a Salary Policy for all categories of staff and to be responsible for its administration and review
  • To oversee the appointment procedure for all staff
  • To establish and review a Performance Management policy for all staff*
  • To oversee the process leading to staff reductions
  • To keep under review staff work/life balance, working conditions and well-being, including the monitoring of absence
  • To make recommendations on personnel related expenditure to the Finance Committee
  • To consider any appeal against a decision on pay grading or pay awards
  • To monitor and review all Personnel policies provided by the LA.
  • To ensure provision for PPA time
  • To ensure provision of dedicated headship time.
  • Additional items which individual Governing Bodies may wish to include


Work of the Committee 2017 - 18

The personnel committee, with the Chair of Governors, met in September to discuss the recruitment procedure for a new Head Teacher.  They agreed a recruitment and appointment panel to oversee this.